Chewy Perfect Peanut Butter Cookies

Chewy Peanut Butter Cookies: the pictures really don't do them justice

I have started making cookies for a department wide weekly seminar at work. After people have complained for years that the cookies are not to their liking (first they were too sweet and somewhat nauseating on an empty stomach then the next ones were too hard), I finally convinced them to let me make them. To me it was a great opportunity to test out the MANY cookie recipes that I have been wanting to try for years but have not out of fear of eating entire batches of cookies to myself.

So the person that helped me organize this is obsessed with peanut butter cookies. I don’t know a lot of people that would choose a plain peanut butter cookie as their favourite one but he would. Of course that meant that I had to find a perfect peanut butter recipe immediately. This recipe is delicious. Even as a lover of peanut butter I usually prefer my cookies with a little more to them but these are definitely the exception. They are super thick and chewy and have the perfect peanut butter’y richness to make them truly delicious! I need to make them again soon.

The 2nd week I didn’t make any peanut butter cookies – and I was warned.

So with my peanut butter cookie recipes nailed on the first try, now I just have to figure out how to not eat so much dough every week… it is a bad situation. Three batches of cookies each week = 3 times too much dough. Even worse is when I make ginger molasses cookies and the dough needs to sit overnight in the fridge. I ended up making the dough on Sunday and baking the cookies on Wednesday… so that meant the delicious dough sat in my fridge for 3 days… and was munched on somewhat regularly for 3 days. Bad situation. I admit it, I love ginger molasses cookies cookie dough. Shockingly I love it more than chocolate chip cookie dough.

Oh, wait this post was supposed to be about the peanut butter cookies, the dough talk got me thinking about how much I loved having that dough in the fridge. And how bad I may do on my upcoming half marathon because of the junk I have been eating! Coming back to peanut butter but related to the ginger molasses cookies – how many people would think that peanut butter ginger molasses cookies would be good? I have made them before and I think they are fabulous but I am not sure if they appeal to too many others…

Anyways, if you happen to notice a few extra cookie recipes on here in the next few months, now you know why!

Chewy Perfect Peanut Butter Cookies (uh oh, I don’t remember who’s blog I got these from! Sorry!)

  • Butter & Peanut Butter: Creamy & Dreamy

    1 cup peanut butter

  • 1 cup butter
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  •  3 1/2 cup flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  1. Preheat oven to 325°F. Line a couple baking sheets with parchment paper.
  2. In a bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt.
  3. Cream together peanut butter and butter with mixer. Add sugars and beat until light and fluffy.
  4. Add eggs one at a time and then add vanilla while continuing to beat.
  5. Add the flour mix while continuing to beat.
  6. Spoon/scoop out desired sized cookies. Dip a fork in cool water and use tines to add the familiar cross-hatched pattern.
  7. Bake 10-12 minutes (depends on the size of your cookies!). Allow to cool at least 3 minutes on the cookie sheet before transferring them to the cooling rack. Then ENJOY!!!
Leave a Reply

