Cinnamon Caramel Blondies

Cinnamon Caramel Blondies: you need to make these!

Two things I have to admit: I don’t think I have ever made blondies before and although this recipe looked good, I was surprised by just how incredibly amazing it was!

I don’t know why I haven’t made blondies before, it isn’t that they don’t interest me, it is just that… well I am a big chocolate fan and blondies are just brownies without the chocolate! So really, in my world, although they keep that great chewy texture of brownies, they take out the best part. Except these ones, they add two of my favourite other flavours in instead! Cinnamon & caramel. I love them both. Almost as much as chocolate. And almost as much as peanut butter (which may be ranked above chocolate, or maybe they are tied?) Anyways, point is that I loved the idea of these blondies when I saw the recipe on one of the blogs I follow – The Baker Chick and had to make them at the first opportunity!

Cinnamon + Caramel: two amazing ingredients!

Also, it wasn’t that I thought these wouldn’t be good, I just didn’t think they could be as absolutely delicious as I wanted them to be! I mean cinnamon & caramel are so great but would the recipe be the perfection that I seeked? Well in this case, YES!! These were even better than I expected. And whereas I normally am fairly modest about my baking and let the taster decide when I take something somewhere, I raved on and on when I took these! And the reason I am posting this recipe right now is that I promised a couple people the recipe right away!

So if you need to make something and want it to be good, make these. Or if you just want to make something delicious to eat all to yourself, make these (although I don’t recommend eating a 9×13 pan of them to yourself!)

Cinnamon Caramel Blondies

  • 2 2/3 cups flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 2 cups packed brown sugar
  • 1 cup unsalted butter, room temp
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla
  • 1 14 oz bag of caramels, unwrapped (used these but I found them in the States and can’t get them in Canada. If you can’t get these, just get a regular bag and unwrap them all yourself)
  • 1/3 cup cream
  • 2 Tablespoons sugar
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  1. Bottom layer + caramel

    Preheat oven to 350°F. Lightly grease a 9×13-inch pan.

  2. Whisk together the flour, baking powder, salt, cinnamon and nutmeg.
  3. In the bowl of a mixer (or a regular bowl & use hand beaters), beat butter and brown sugar on medium until light and fluffy – about 5 minutes. Add the eggs one at a time. Add the vanilla. Beat well to mix.
  4. With the mixer on low, add in the flour slowly until just combined. It is quite a thick batter.
  5. Spread half of the dough evenly into the bottom of the prepared pan.
  6. In a saucepan, heat the caramels and cream over medium high heat until smooth and melted.
  7. Pour the caramel over the batter.
  8. Distribute the remaining batter evenly over the caramel. I put small clumps spread throughout and then used clean hands to press it down evenly over the caramel (be careful it is hot!) It is ok to have areas that aren’t totally covered.
  9. Combine the sugar and cinnamon in a small bowl and then sprinkle evenly over the batter.
  10. Bake 25-30 min or until the surface is firm but still springy. Cool completely before cutting.

Seriously, look at those layers of caramel! So incredibly good!

Leave a Reply

