Amazingly Delicious Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you heard of such a thing as someone that hasn’t ever eaten cookie dough or cake batter? Seems like insanity to me but I recently found out that a friend, and a frequent baker, actually fell into this category. I could not believe it. I really couldn’t. How could someone bake regularly and never even taste the pre-baked goodness? Apparently her mother had told her that the raw eggs would make her sick “and she would die”. Now this seems fair to believe when you are a child, but as an adult? My mom had told me that it would give me worms… I never believed her as I saw her frequently dip into the bowl herself but that was the claim. I personally think that eating the batter/dough is one of my favourite parts of baking! So in comes these cookies…

The first time, I made them was for two reasons, oh actually three!  One was because I missed baking cookies! I have been making so many cakes/cupcakes/whoopie pies lately but it has been so long since I last made cookies and even longer since I made Chocolate Chip Cookies. The second was because I felt like my friend needed to try cookie dough and her birthday was coming (what better than cookie dough for a birthday gift??). And finally, I wanted to take these with me for my mom and I to share while at my brother’s place. I meant to actually share them with everyone at my brother’s but my mom and I may have gotten a little carried away with eating them…

These are the ones made with Spelt Flour - crispy but they still had their own appeal.

So I had to try these twice before proclaiming them amazing! The first time I made them was for the above reasons and since my mom has a wheat sensitivity, I made them with spelt flour. I had read about this recipe on two different blogs (one linked to the other) and every comment on there described them as “The Perfect Chocolate Chip Cookie” so I was disappointed when they came out crisp and crunchy. They were still delicious and chocolate-y and like I said, my mom and I still devoured them but they weren’t what I was looking for. (I also didn’t melt my butter the first time – I thought softened should be good enough but I won’t try that again!)

I had to try again! If everyone else thought they were so amazing, I figured that with regular flour, they must be better! And oh was I glad I made them again! I shared most of the batch but LOVED the ones I kept for myself. I added some Skor bits to the batter this time but there is no reason it is required! I hope you enjoy them as much as I did! I will be making these regularly!

Amazingly Delicious Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

How could someone not want to eat this deliciousness??

adapted from The Baker Chick and Annie’s Eats but originally from Baking Illustrated

  • 2 cups plus 2 tbsp. flour
  • ½ tsp. baking soda
  • ½ tsp. salt
  • 3/4 cup unsalted butter, melted and cooled until warm
  • 1 cup packed brown sugar
  • ½ cup granulated sugar
  • 1 large egg plus 1 egg yolk
  • 2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup Skor/Heath (optional – you could also add any nuts, coconut, peanut butter cups etc of your choice!)
  1. Preheat oven 325°.  Line cookie sheets with parchment paper.
  2. Whisk together dry ingredients (flour, baking soda & salt).
  3. In the bowl of a stand mixer, or with a hand mixer (or by hand I suppose!), beat butter and sugars well. Add egg, yolk, and vanilla and beat well.
  4. Add dry ingredients and beat on low speed until combined. Stir in chocolate chips & any additional things you are adding! Eat some dough – it is definitely required! The cookies will fail otherwise!
  5. Scoop, or spoon if you are not fortunate enough to have a fabulous cookie scoop, cookies onto prepared sheets.
  6. Bake 10-12 minutes until the cookies look baked on the top. I find that they didn’t get very dark but the tops lost their “dough-like” appearance. It is better to underbake than overbake!
  7. Cool the cookies on the sheet about 5 minutes before moving them to a rack to cool completely.
Enjoy these little bites of perfection!!

Perfection

5 Comments on “Amazingly Delicious Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies”

  1. Court says:

    I’m so glad I provided you with an excuse 😉 Having tried it, though, I don’t think raw cookie dough is my thing. Maybe because it had been in the fridge, but it tasted very grainy.

    Mmmm….makes me want to get back to baking….

  2. Jessica says:

    I made these cookies last night! They turned out delicious!!!! I didn’t have enough butter, so had to add 1/4 cup of margarine… but they still turned out great! It’s true about them coming out of the oven looking almost ‘underbaked’ – they were the best batch – so chewy!!!
    Thanks Becky!

  3. […] insist on making chocolate with toasted marshmallow filling (and vanilla icing on the outside). And chocolate chip cookies are delicious but throw some toffee bits in there and they are so much better (actually I just made these cookies again on the weekend but […]


Leave a Reply

