Adventures in Cake Decorating

So this first post will be brief and just share the cake baking I have been doing over the past few weeks. I started taking the basic cake decorating classes through Michaels (teaching the Wilton methods) and was FORCED to bake for the class. First it was sugar cookies (I wasn’t about to buy the basic cookies from the store like some of my co-decorators),  then a cake, then cupcakes, and finally another cake. Here are the finished products:

This was my first attempt at decorating properly! I love moose! The cake was a chai-spiced cake with raspberry jam and an almond frosting.

Red Wine Cupcakes with Blackberry Wine Frosting! I had a ton of fun decorating these guys!

This was a mango cake with mango curd filling and rum frosting! For an unflappable co-worker. The roses were a must since we learned them that day in class!

I will add the recipes for these guys later! The recipe for the cupcakes can be found on my other blog “Let’s Make Whoopie”

Leave a Reply

