Strawberry Shortcake Plus Ice Cream Cupcakes

Part of the reason I wanted to start a dessert blog was because I kept

Delicious Strawberries!

coming across these contests and fun activities that different blogs do together and I wanted to participate! So this is my first one! I am pretty excited although looking at the competition (see the Cupcake Project’s Facebook page for other cupcakes!), I am realizing just how serious some of these bloggers are! There are some great creations out there and I am looking forward to browsing through more! The idea of the contest is to combine a great cupcake with ice cream in some way. So here is my cupcake!

The cupcakes I made are  Strawberry Cupcakes based on a recipe from Martha Stewart’s Cupcakes cookbook. I have made them before but I forgot just how delicious they are!

The ice cream was store bought (I dream of the day I own the ice cream maker attachment for my KitchenAid but I also know how dangerous it would be for me! I love ice cream!) and was a white chocolate and dark chocolate swirl one. I decided to put two layers of ice cream in the middle for extra fun! On top, there is a layer of strawberry cream cheese icing and then some scraggly vanilla buttercream to finish it off. Of course a few sprinkles on top round it out! The recipes for the cupcakes and cream cheese filling are below!

The finished product!

Strawberry Cupcakes

Mmm... all those strawberries make that batter tasty!

  • 3 1/4 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 Tb baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 cup butter, room temp
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 3 large eggs plus 1 egg white
  • 1 cup whole milk
  • 2 cups finely chopped strawberries
  1. Preheat oven to 350°F. Grease cupcake pans or line with papers.
  2. Whisk together flour, baking powder and salt.
  3. In the stand of a mixer, beat butter, add in sugar and vanilla and beat until fluffy and pale. Add eggs and the egg white one at a time.
  4. Reduce speed to low and add half the flour, then the milk, then the rest of the flour.
  5. Carefully fold in chopped strawberries.
  6. Scoop into prepared pans.
  7. (The ones not receiving the ice cream treatment actually were stuffed with a cheesecake like filling in them: I made a dent in them and then scooped in the filling – this I made by beating together 4 oz cream cheese, 1 egg, 1/4 cup sugar, 2-3 Tb sour cream – and baked the same.)
  8. Bake 25-30 min or until toothpick comes out clean. Allow to cool 30 min before transferring them to a cooling rack and to cool completely.

    Strawberry Cheesecake Filled Cupcakes

Strawberry Cream Cheese Frosting

  • 1 pkg (8oz) cream cheese
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 4 cups icing/confectioner’s sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 cup strawberries, chopped
Mix the cream cheese and butter. Beat in the sugar and vanilla. With the mixer on slow, add the strawberries carefully.
You may wonder what I did with the rest of the cupcakes? Well I quickly (so not as nice as I would have liked) piped the Canuck’s logo on them and took them to a friend’s while we watched the game!
10 Comments on “Strawberry Shortcake Plus Ice Cream Cupcakes”

  1. Katie says:

    Wow! These look so fancy! How did you get the ice cream to look like that on the top?

  2. Ali says:

    Now there is a cupcake house that I would live in! It is consolatory that you had lovely baked goods during the game. If only the few of those idiot so-called fans had one of your cupcakes after the game, it might have dawned upon them that there is next year or the year after, or the one after that etc, to win Lord Stanley’s chalice.

  3. sara says:

    WOW, that is one awesome dessert! It looks super delicious. :)

  4. Ali says:

    Question about the cream cheese filling: you scooped the filling before baking the cupcakes or during or after they were baked?

    • I made a cavern in the unbaked batter and then spooned in the filling. So it ended up with a cheesecake-like filling in the middle of the baked cupcake!

      • Ali Hassan says:

        Okay so I made these a couple of weekends ago, and also made a “diabetic” batch side by side, replacing the butter with half:half applesauce and olive oil and split the sugar between splenda, brown and white, and of course used 1% milk. There was a slight difference in taste and texture (the diabetic one was slightly sweeter in taste and a little bit chewier I think), but it turned out pretty good. I am always looking out for diabetic desserts so my mom can enjoy my desserts as well. Know of any good ones?

      • Thanks for the info on these ones Ali! That is great to hear that they were successful with so many substitutions!

        I have successfully substituted Splenda previously but in the past couple of years I have preferred to use real sugar as it just seems more natural. I’ll see what I can do in the future for low-sugar options!

  5. [...] posted the chocolate-coconut cupcakes and the other ones I chose to make were a variation on the strawberry cupcakes I previously posted as well. I won’t repost the recipe but rather just some notes on them [...]

  6. [...] Strawberry Shortcake Plus Ice Cream Cupcakes  by Becky of bexbakesandcakes [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.